Book Review: The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett, Chelsea Sedoti

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti My rating: 3 of 5 stars Summary: A teenage misfit named Hawthorn Creely inserts herself in the investigation of missing person Lizzie Lovett, who disappeared mysteriously while camping with her boyfriend. Hawthorn doesn’t mean to interfere, but she has a pretty crazy theory about what happened to…

Book Review: Hex, Thomas Olde Heuvelt

Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt My rating: 3 of 5 stars Summary: Whoever is born here, is doomed to stay ’til death. Whoever settles, never leaves. Welcome to Black Spring, the seemingly picturesque Hudson Valley town haunted by the Black Rock Witch, a 17th century woman whose eyes and mouth are sewn shut. Muzzled, she walks…

Book Review: More Happy Than Not, Adam Silvera

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again–but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he’s slowly remembering what that might feel like….

Book Review: Salt to the Sea, Ruta Sepetys

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys My rating: 3 of 5 stars Summary: Winter, 1945. Four teenagers. Four secrets. Each one born of a different homeland; each one hunted, and haunted, by tragedy, lies…and war. As thousands of desperate refugees flock to the coast in the midst of a Soviet advance, four paths converge, vying…

Manga Review: Shinkuu Yuusetsu, Bikke

真空融接 上 [Shinkuu Yuusetsu 1] by Bikke My rating: 3 of 5 stars Summary: In this country, every person has to be matched up with a partner. Partnerships are made around when you turn three or four. The doctors decide who gets paired together. One person acts as the ‘supplier.’ The other as the ‘receiver.’ It…

Troublesome Thursdays: Reawakened, Colleen Houck

I’m only about halfway through this now, but boy do I have the biggest rant prepared so far. Somehow, this book has managed to have a worse protagonist than the author’s Tiger’s Curse series, has been more racist than said series, and yet is somehow also twice as hilarious. In any case, I can tell right now that this book…

Manhwa/Webtoon Review: ShootAround, Suspu

Summary: When a zombie apocalypse hits during the practice of a high school basketball team, it’s a whole new life for the coach, Jeff. The world’s turned upside down and the girls seem to be handling the changes way better than Jeff, who has troubles adjusting. A close-knit group of friends, the girls are eager to…

Book Review: Gone Without a Trace, Mary Torjussen

Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: GONE WITHOUT A TRACE by Mary Torjussen is a chilling, twisty, compulsive thriller about a woman whose boyfriend has vanished. Fans of I LET YOU GO and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN will be gripped. No one ever disappears completely… You leave…

Book Review: Hung Up, Kristen Tracy

Hung Up by Kristen Tracy My rating: 2 of 5 stars Summary: Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of a wrong number gone right. It all started with a wrong number. The voicemails Lucy left on James’s phone were meant for someone else—someone…

Update

So, I haven’t posted in more than a week. Oops. I’ve got a good reason- I took the SAT last Saturday, and I spent all of the week before trying to prepare for it. It’s just that life kind of got in the way of posting reviews and other things, and I’m trying to start…

Book Review: The Weight of This World, David Joy

The Weight of This World by David Joy My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: Critically acclaimed author David Joy, whose debut, Where All Light Tends to Go, was hailed as “a savagely moving novel that will likely become an important addition to the great body of Southern literature” (The Huffington Post), returns to the mountains…