Book Review: Fallen, Lauren Kate

Fallen (Fallen, #1)Fallen by Lauren Kate
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I literally can’t even right now.

Review to come.

Edited 9/25/2015

*sigh* Where do I even begin with this book? With the characters? The plot? The sheer stupidity?

Now, there were some good things throughout the whole book. Unfortunately, the bad outweighed the good.

The first good thing in the whole book was that I was at least not bored. I mean, I may have been appalled at Luce’s behavior and I totally called the first major plot twist in the prologue and the second one in the first two chapters, but I wasn’t bored.

The second good thing in the book was the side characters. They were interesting people who I’m interested in learning more about, and they’re actually the reason why I’m going to read the second book.

Alright, that’s about it for the good stuff. Now onto the bad.

At least half of the stupidity in Fallen is just the course of the plot. For most of the book, we are treated to Luce’s stalker tendencies and her pretty much just being worse than Bella Swan.

I’m not even kidding there.

Luce consistently goes after the one person who is trying to stay away from her, jumps to conclusions, and just makes some really stupid decisions. Like getting into a mysterious black sedan and sneaking out of school. Yeah, that’s clearly the best thing she could have done there.

Gah.

And then, just being a stalker in general. Luce is one of those creepy stalkers. Daniel should stay far, far away. And that brings me to my next point of stupidity: Daniel.

It was clear to me from the first chapter and the title itself what Daniel was. The ‘twist’ wasn’t really much of a twist, after all.

(I also couldn’t help but compare him to Edward. They had the same amount of idiocy.)

Anyway, the pacing of the plot was just really bad. Everything just gets dumped on the reader in the last 100-ish pages.

So, 1.5 out of 5 stars, but I’ll still read the next one. For the side characters.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

