Book Review: Unwind, Neal Shusterman

Unwind (Unwind, #1)Unwind by Neal Shusterman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Those last nine chapters though… ;~;

Rtc.

Edited 12/9/2015

This book deals with a very controversial topic, and I really liked that. It felt very realistic to me, even though there were some elements that I had a hard time wrapping my head around (clappers?), but overall, I felt like it was something that could actually happen, even at the same time I didn’t at all.

“Back in China, in the days when they only allowed one kid per family, people were killing off their baby girls left and right.”

This was when it hit me-
this kind of stuff happens every day.

People get abortions, abandon babies, kids are abused, etc. I’m not even going to get into what happens outside of abortion clinics, or to the lengths that people will go to get those abortions.

(Actually, we were discussing this the other day during Health class. I guess that made this book hit even harder.)

God, I can’t even say anything about this book. The quotes kinda speak for themselves:

“You can’t change laws without first changing human nature.

“You can’t change human nature without first changing the law.

“…you’re somebody else’s problem.”

“If he wants the Juvey-cops, fine, he’ll get them. The sooner they come, the sooner this whole thing can fall into the category of ‘not my problem’.”

I can’t even. I just…

description

I had a couple issues with the writing style, but I could ignore that. The characters were also awesome- each one changed and grew a little until the very end.

In the end, I don’t care what your views on this issue are, but I do think that everyone should read this book at least once.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

