Book Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne, J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two (Harry Potter, #8)Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Parts One and Two by John Tiffany
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

2.5 stars.

This was a tough one for me to rate. On one hand, I wanted to love it, and rant about it, and reread it until the spine cracks. On the other, I just didn’t like it that much. The plot was fine, I enjoyed the plot- it was mostly the characters that didn’t do it for me.

I didn’t like Albus. He felt like a spoiled little kid, someone who was so overindulged that, when things didn’t go his way, he never knew what to do, and just made one bad decision after another. He wasn’t really the Albus that we saw in the epilogue of Deathly Hallows.

Scorpius was an okay character. I liked seeing his friendship with Albus, but I didn’t feel like he had too much of a personality beyond that.

And then there was Harry…he felt very out of character to me. I don’t believe that he would act like that, or say those things to any of his children, simply because of the way his own childhood was. Harry might say things he doesn’t mean out of anger, but not those things. Never those things. It didn’t seem like him.

However, there were parts of the story I did like- Harry’s confrontation of Dumbledore’s portrait, for one, and the scene with the Trolley Witch in the beginning. And of course, any scene with Ron. Despite the parts I didn’t like, I did enjoy the story, as long as I didn’t think too hard about it. So, 2.5/5.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

