Book Review: I’ll Give You the Sun, Jandy Nelson

I'll Give You the SunI’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was going to give this book two stars, but the ending somewhat redeemed the whole thing.

Review to come.

Edited 10/6/2015

Let’s start with the good, shall we?

1. Noah and Brian

All I can say about this is that I ship it. I ship it really hard.
description

2. Jude figuring out what is going on in her life

As much as I might not have liked Jude, she was trying to fix her relationship with Noah. I mean, most of the time, I kinda wanted to scream at her and maybe shake her a little bit, but she had her moments.

3. The ending.

I’m not going to elaborate too much on this because of spoilers, but the ending did redeem the whole book for me. It just fit the story really well and wrapped up the plot very nicely.

Now, onto the bad…

1. Noah and Jude.

I didn’t like our two main characters. To me, they sounded like whiny, angsty twelve-year-olds instead of the at least somewhat mature teenagers they were supposed to be. Noah I can understand, because in his chapters he was only 13, but Jude was supposed to be 16. 16. She didn’t sound like a 16 year old, she sounded like a boy-obsessed tween who wants to have sex with every guy in sight.

As long as they’re hot, of course.

2. The Worldbuilding

Throughout the entire book, I was really confused as to what exactly this world was. Was this supposed to be magical realism? A world where ghosts exist, but nothing else supernatural? I’ve got no idea.

As for the whole ghosts thing, I still can’t tell if Jude was just crazy, or if they were real. I’m leaning more towards crazy, though.

3. The Plot

Until the last quarter of the book, I was a, bored out of my mind, and b, shaking my head in disappointment every five seconds. Or yawning. It’s just… nothing happened, for 3/4 of the book, so I almost labeled it as a lost cause. Thank goodness I stuck around for the end!

4. The Writing

This had some of the most ridiculous writing I’ve ever seen. It was descriptive to the point of being completely insane. Like, seriously, it took the phrase ‘purple prose’ to a whole new level.

That’s about it. In the end, though…

description

I was Monokuma, and this book was the fish.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

