Book Review: Radiance, Alyson Noel

Radiance (Riley Bloom, #1)Radiance by Alyson Noel
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

This girl was the worst, most annoying brat I’ve ever had the misfortune to read about.

Full review to come.

Edited 11/1/2015

Riley is a young girl who died tragically in a car accident along with her parents. She picks up her life where it ended and gets a job, and one that actually sounds interesting. She is a Soul Catcher, a person who gets to convince spirits to cross over. She also has a cute and nerdy teacher, Bodhi.

Sounds interesting, right? It sure seemed cool to me, when I was 10. If I saw this book and read the summary today, I would know to stay far, far away.

(Actually, I would know to do that just based on who the author is.)

My big issue with this book was Riley herself. She’s rude, arrogant, and so utterly full of herself that I couldn’t help but hate her. And you’re telling me that she’s supposed to be awesome and incredibly kind?

Yeah, right.

She is also a massive Mary Sue. Of course, she’s the only one who could get the three Radiant Boys to cross over, the only one who could help Bodhi help that woman cross over.

Are you freaking kidding me right now?

I’ve even got quotes to prove it:

“You know, you’re pretty amazing, Riley Bloom. You’re the best Soul Catcher I’ve ever seen and it’s only you’re first day out!

God, I think she might even be worse than Kelsey Hayes. I didn’t think something like that could happen. Could she be any more of a “special snowflake”?

As for the other characters, they had no characterization. None. Honestly, I think the dog might have been more fleshed out than they were.

The plot was relatively interesting, but the writing was bad and nothing was really enough to redeem this horrible book. Final reactions:

description

description

description

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

