Book Review: Timeline, Michael Crichton

TimelineTimeline by Michael Crichton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Holy crap, that was awesome!

Review to come.

Edited 10/12/2015

Where do I even begin with this? It was absolutely brilliant!

Well, plot, I guess.

This book is centered around three students going back in time to save their beloved professor. With going back, they have to deal with history and an evil corporation . And Crichton did it so well! Everything was explained, and said explanations actually made sense.

As for the history- as far as I could tell, everything was pretty accurate, and it was intertwined with the plot so well that I felt like I was actually there, running with Kate, jousting with Chris, and watching Marek save everyone’s butts. And now I have the urge to go and do a bunch of research on kings of England and how they all died.

And the gore! I knew it would be there (because there always is) but this was especially vivid. It was awesome and disgusting all at the same time.

And now for the three protagonists- Kate, Chris, and Marek.

Kate was a wonderful person- smart and strong, and she actually survived. She was occasionally left on her own, and she got into some fights, but she lived through them. And for that matter, won. She was just awesome.

Chris…he spent most of his time being kind of confused, but he managed to make it through. He wasn’t particularly strong or smart, but he had his moments, and I think that’s why I liked him the most.

And Marek! He was just freakin’ awesome. He managed to fit in perfectly, he’s probably the only reason that both Kate, Chris, and the Professor survived and managed to make it back (or rather, forward) in time. He… I can’t even express how much I loved his character.

The side characters were also amazing. Lady Claire was awesome and I totally called who she was from the exact moment where she came in, and the other antagonists were delightfully evil. Sir Guy, Lord Oliver, and the Archpriest were all wonderful and were realistic for the time period, and I did not see the other major twist coming at all! Seriously, I kind of just sat there and stared at the book for a good 10 minutes.

When I finished this book, I literally could not stop talking about it for the rest of the day and I was pretty much just in a haze over how incredible it was. By the end, I was doing a mental dance because I was cheering on the characters and I felt like the main antagonist (Doniger) had gotten a really fitting end.

Anyway, 5/5 stars, would happily read again.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

