Book Review: The Outsiders, S.E. Hinton

The OutsidersThe Outsiders by S.E. Hinton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Oh my god, that was amazing. Darn you, English class, for making me read October Sky instead of this gem!

Review to come later.

Edited 9/20/2015

Hm, where do I even begin with this book? It was amazing, and made me feel all the feels.

Ponyboy Curtis is a greaser, and his life is made up of his gang, school, and fighting the Socs(short for ‘socials’). Now, at this point, I wasn’t sure if I was going to like this book, because I don’t usually really like realistic fiction books enough to make them my absolute favorites, but this really made the list.

And the book doesn’t even start off slow. It starts off with Ponyboy getting beat up, and then… I’m just gonna say that well that escalated quickly. Really quickly.

It went a little bit more slowly in the middle, but then the pace of the plot just sped up, and it just kept getting better and better. For such a short book, the pacing may seem a little fast, but it was actually perfect.

All in all, five stars, would (happily) read again.

“Stay gold, Ponyboy. Stay gold…”

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

