Book Review: Gone Without a Trace, Mary Torjussen

Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: GONE WITHOUT A TRACE by Mary Torjussen is a chilling, twisty, compulsive thriller about a woman whose boyfriend has vanished. Fans of I LET YOU GO and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN will be gripped. No one ever disappears completely… You leave…

Book Review: Hung Up, Kristen Tracy

Hung Up by Kristen Tracy My rating: 2 of 5 stars Summary: Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of a wrong number gone right. It all started with a wrong number. The voicemails Lucy left on James’s phone were meant for someone else—someone…

Update

So, I haven’t posted in more than a week. Oops. I’ve got a good reason- I took the SAT last Saturday, and I spent all of the week before trying to prepare for it. It’s just that life kind of got in the way of posting reviews and other things, and I’m trying to start…

Book Review: The Weight of This World, David Joy

The Weight of This World by David Joy My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: Critically acclaimed author David Joy, whose debut, Where All Light Tends to Go, was hailed as “a savagely moving novel that will likely become an important addition to the great body of Southern literature” (The Huffington Post), returns to the mountains…

Book Review: The Demon’s Lexicon, Sarah Rees Brennan

The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan My rating: 5 of 5 stars Summary: Sixteen-year-old Nick and his brother, Alan, are always ready to run. Their father is dead, and their mother is crazy—she screams if Nick gets near her. She’s no help in protecting any of them from the deadly magicians who use demons to…

Book Review: The Night Ocean, Paul La Farge

The Night Ocean by Paul La Farge My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: From the award-winning author and New Yorker contributor, a riveting novel about secrets and scandals, psychiatry and pulp fiction, inspired by the lives of H.P. Lovecraft and his circle. Marina Willett, M.D., has a problem. Her husband, Charlie, has become obsessed with…