Book Review: The Demon’s Lexicon, Sarah Rees Brennan

The Demon's Lexicon (The Demon's Lexicon, #1)The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Summary: Sixteen-year-old Nick and his brother, Alan, are always ready to run. Their father is dead, and their mother is crazy—she screams if Nick gets near her. She’s no help in protecting any of them from the deadly magicians who use demons to work their magic. The magicians want a charm that Nick’s mother stole—and they want it badly enough to kill. Alan is Nick’s partner in demon slaying and the only person he trusts in the world. So things get very scary and very complicated when Nick begins to suspect that everything Alan has told him about their father, their mother, their past, and what they are doing is a complete lie. . . .

Review:

I enjoyed this much more than I was expecting to, honestly. I called the twist when I read the summary (though the ending itself was still a surprise), but it was still insanely enjoyable.

I have to say that Nick is one of my favorite characters- the author did a great job of making him cold and generally uncaring, but not completely emotionless. Honestly, I was feeling more angry on his behalf for most of the book because people weren’t trying to understand him. He was so sarcastic and hilarious, I loved it.

This book was pretty fast-paced, too- I was never bored because something was always happening. The author has kind of a witty, sarcastic writing style which made it even better- it just made the book even more interesting than it already was.

Oh man. I just really loved this book. It was just so much fun!

View all my reviews

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Tyler Wright says:

    Great review! I also write book reviews, but mainly for nonfiction books.

    I have learned from the mistakes of successful people just from reading their biographies, which is something that a lot of people don’t think about when it comes to reading.

    If you are interested in the benefits of reading nonfiction, please stop by my page. I post book reviews of inspiring nonfiction, as well as an occasional bit of advice.

    https://thewrightread.com/

    Like

  2. I love this book! I didn’t guess the twist, possibly because I was so excited to read the book the first time that I sped through it. I agree that Nick is hilarious, Rees Brennan is really clever for taking a character who when summarised doesn’t sound likeable and then making them loveable. I think seeing the story from Nick’s perspective lets you see that although he doesn’t feel emotions like other people do, he does have things/people he cares about and he does try.

    Like

    1. Honestly, I feel like if the story had been told from anyone else’s perspective, it wouldn’t have been nearly as good, just because we wouldn’t have that insight into Nick’s character. Seeing everything through his eyes really showed us that there was a lot more to him than what he showed on the surface.

      Like

Leave a Reply

