Book Review: More Happy Than Not, Adam Silvera

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again–but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he’s slowly remembering what that might feel like….

Book Review: Salt to the Sea, Ruta Sepetys

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys My rating: 3 of 5 stars Summary: Winter, 1945. Four teenagers. Four secrets. Each one born of a different homeland; each one hunted, and haunted, by tragedy, lies…and war. As thousands of desperate refugees flock to the coast in the midst of a Soviet advance, four paths converge, vying…

Book Review: Gone Without a Trace, Mary Torjussen

Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: GONE WITHOUT A TRACE by Mary Torjussen is a chilling, twisty, compulsive thriller about a woman whose boyfriend has vanished. Fans of I LET YOU GO and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN will be gripped. No one ever disappears completely… You leave…

Book Review: Hung Up, Kristen Tracy

Hung Up by Kristen Tracy My rating: 2 of 5 stars Summary: Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of a wrong number gone right. It all started with a wrong number. The voicemails Lucy left on James’s phone were meant for someone else—someone…

Book Review: The Weight of This World, David Joy

The Weight of This World by David Joy My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: Critically acclaimed author David Joy, whose debut, Where All Light Tends to Go, was hailed as “a savagely moving novel that will likely become an important addition to the great body of Southern literature” (The Huffington Post), returns to the mountains…

Book Review: The Demon’s Lexicon, Sarah Rees Brennan

The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan My rating: 5 of 5 stars Summary: Sixteen-year-old Nick and his brother, Alan, are always ready to run. Their father is dead, and their mother is crazy—she screams if Nick gets near her. She’s no help in protecting any of them from the deadly magicians who use demons to…

Book Review: The Night Ocean, Paul La Farge

The Night Ocean by Paul La Farge My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: From the award-winning author and New Yorker contributor, a riveting novel about secrets and scandals, psychiatry and pulp fiction, inspired by the lives of H.P. Lovecraft and his circle. Marina Willett, M.D., has a problem. Her husband, Charlie, has become obsessed with…

Book Review: Burned, Ellen Hopkins

Burned by Ellen Hopkins My rating: 2 of 5 stars Summary: It all started with a dream. Nothing exceptional, just a typical fantasy about a boy, the kind of dream that most teen girls experience. But Pattyn Von Stratten is not like most teen girls. Raised in a religious — yet abusive — family, a…

Book Review: Brave New World, Aldous Huxley

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley My rating: 5 of 5 stars Summary: Far in the future, the World Controllers have created the ideal society. Through clever use of genetic engineering, brainwashing and recreational sex and drugs, all its members are happy consumers. Bernard Marx seems alone harbouring an ill-defined longing to break free. A visit…

Book Review: Elixir, Hilary Duff, Elise Allen

Elixir by Hilary Duff My rating: 1 of 5 stars Summary: Clea Raymond has felt the glare of the spotlight her entire life. The daughter of a renowned surgeon and a prominent Washington DC politician, she has grown to be a talented photojournalist who takes refuge in a career that allows her to travel to the…

Book Review: Learning to Swear in America, Katie Kennedy

Learning to Swear in America by Katie Kennedy My rating: 5 of 5 stars Summary: Brimming with humor and one-of-a-kind characters, this end-of-the world novel will grab hold of Andrew Smith and Rainbow Rowell fans. An asteroid is hurtling toward Earth. A big, bad one. Yuri, a physicist prodigy from Russia, has been called to NASA…