Book Review: The Price You Pay, Aidan Truhen

The Price You Pay by Aidan Truhen My rating: 5 of 5 stars Summary: All is good in the life of Jack Price. His drug operation is the Amazon of cocaine trafficking, and no one can breach his complex security system. But then: his downstairs neighbor is professionally executed. That the murder is a sign for…

Book Review: When Dimple Met Rishi, Sandhya Menon

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon My rating: 1 of 5 stars Summary: Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some…

Anime Review: Devilman Crybaby

In January 2018, Netflix released Devilman Crybaby, a full adaptation of Go Nagai’s apparently scandalous manga (will confirm when I read it). Now, I checked out the summary, looked at the rating (TV-MA), and very promptly went to go find a content warning, because gore is not my thing and I’m just really squeamish. So here’s…

Book Review: The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett, Chelsea Sedoti

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti My rating: 3 of 5 stars Summary: A teenage misfit named Hawthorn Creely inserts herself in the investigation of missing person Lizzie Lovett, who disappeared mysteriously while camping with her boyfriend. Hawthorn doesn’t mean to interfere, but she has a pretty crazy theory about what happened to…

Book Review: Hex, Thomas Olde Heuvelt

Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt My rating: 3 of 5 stars Summary: Whoever is born here, is doomed to stay ’til death. Whoever settles, never leaves. Welcome to Black Spring, the seemingly picturesque Hudson Valley town haunted by the Black Rock Witch, a 17th century woman whose eyes and mouth are sewn shut. Muzzled, she walks…

Book Review: More Happy Than Not, Adam Silvera

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again–but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he’s slowly remembering what that might feel like….

Book Review: Salt to the Sea, Ruta Sepetys

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys My rating: 3 of 5 stars Summary: Winter, 1945. Four teenagers. Four secrets. Each one born of a different homeland; each one hunted, and haunted, by tragedy, lies…and war. As thousands of desperate refugees flock to the coast in the midst of a Soviet advance, four paths converge, vying…

Manga Review: Shinkuu Yuusetsu, Bikke

真空融接 上 [Shinkuu Yuusetsu 1] by Bikke My rating: 3 of 5 stars Summary: In this country, every person has to be matched up with a partner. Partnerships are made around when you turn three or four. The doctors decide who gets paired together. One person acts as the ‘supplier.’ The other as the ‘receiver.’ It…

Manhwa/Webtoon Review: ShootAround, Suspu

Summary: When a zombie apocalypse hits during the practice of a high school basketball team, it’s a whole new life for the coach, Jeff. The world’s turned upside down and the girls seem to be handling the changes way better than Jeff, who has troubles adjusting. A close-knit group of friends, the girls are eager to…

Book Review: Gone Without a Trace, Mary Torjussen

Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: GONE WITHOUT A TRACE by Mary Torjussen is a chilling, twisty, compulsive thriller about a woman whose boyfriend has vanished. Fans of I LET YOU GO and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN will be gripped. No one ever disappears completely… You leave…

Book Review: Hung Up, Kristen Tracy

Hung Up by Kristen Tracy My rating: 2 of 5 stars Summary: Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of a wrong number gone right. It all started with a wrong number. The voicemails Lucy left on James’s phone were meant for someone else—someone…