Book Review: Gone Without a Trace, Mary Torjussen

Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: GONE WITHOUT A TRACE by Mary Torjussen is a chilling, twisty, compulsive thriller about a woman whose boyfriend has vanished. Fans of I LET YOU GO and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN will be gripped. No one ever disappears completely… You leave…

Book Review: Hung Up, Kristen Tracy

Hung Up by Kristen Tracy My rating: 2 of 5 stars Summary: Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of a wrong number gone right. It all started with a wrong number. The voicemails Lucy left on James’s phone were meant for someone else—someone…

Update

So, I haven’t posted in more than a week. Oops. I’ve got a good reason- I took the SAT last Saturday, and I spent all of the week before trying to prepare for it. It’s just that life kind of got in the way of posting reviews and other things, and I’m trying to start…

Book Review: The Weight of This World, David Joy

The Weight of This World by David Joy My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: Critically acclaimed author David Joy, whose debut, Where All Light Tends to Go, was hailed as “a savagely moving novel that will likely become an important addition to the great body of Southern literature” (The Huffington Post), returns to the mountains…

Book Review: The Demon’s Lexicon, Sarah Rees Brennan

The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan My rating: 5 of 5 stars Summary: Sixteen-year-old Nick and his brother, Alan, are always ready to run. Their father is dead, and their mother is crazy—she screams if Nick gets near her. She’s no help in protecting any of them from the deadly magicians who use demons to…

Book Review: The Night Ocean, Paul La Farge

The Night Ocean by Paul La Farge My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: From the award-winning author and New Yorker contributor, a riveting novel about secrets and scandals, psychiatry and pulp fiction, inspired by the lives of H.P. Lovecraft and his circle. Marina Willett, M.D., has a problem. Her husband, Charlie, has become obsessed with…

Strange Saturday Nights

Prompt from: https://thestoryshack.com/tools/writing-prompt Genre: fairy tale Person: a golfer Item: a machine gun Sentence to use: “Don’t trust everything you see.” Full title: Strange Saturday Nights Are Good For Sunday Morning Health I’m starting to wonder if I’m actually drunk. I didn’t think I was, considering I only had a sip from one of my…

TBR Tuesday: Nemesis, Brendan Reichs

It’s time for another TBR Tuesday! Today, it’s one that’s coming out pretty soon: Nemesis. Summary: Orphan Black meets Lord of the Flies in this riveting new thriller from the co-author of the Virals series. It’s been happening since Min was eight. Every two years, on her birthday, a strange man finds her and murders her in…

Manhwa Review: Flow, Heo Ni-Bi

Flow: Stream by Heo Ni-Bi My rating: 5 of 5 stars Summary: In this world, every child is born under a god. Every child can have their god grant them a wish. For the children that haven’t made wishes, the gods will disguise themselves as animals and follow the children around. Once in a while comes…

Book Review: Burned, Ellen Hopkins

Burned by Ellen Hopkins My rating: 2 of 5 stars Summary: It all started with a dream. Nothing exceptional, just a typical fantasy about a boy, the kind of dream that most teen girls experience. But Pattyn Von Stratten is not like most teen girls. Raised in a religious — yet abusive — family, a…

Book Review: Brave New World, Aldous Huxley

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley My rating: 5 of 5 stars Summary: Far in the future, the World Controllers have created the ideal society. Through clever use of genetic engineering, brainwashing and recreational sex and drugs, all its members are happy consumers. Bernard Marx seems alone harbouring an ill-defined longing to break free. A visit…

We’ve got some seriously awesome sunsets where I live.