Manhwa/Webtoon Review: ShootAround, Suspu

Summary: When a zombie apocalypse hits during the practice of a high school basketball team, it’s a whole new life for the coach, Jeff. The world’s turned upside down and the girls seem to be handling the changes way better than Jeff, who has troubles adjusting. A close-knit group of friends, the girls are eager to…

Book Review: Gone Without a Trace, Mary Torjussen

Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: GONE WITHOUT A TRACE by Mary Torjussen is a chilling, twisty, compulsive thriller about a woman whose boyfriend has vanished. Fans of I LET YOU GO and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN will be gripped. No one ever disappears completely… You leave…

Book Review: The Weight of This World, David Joy

The Weight of This World by David Joy My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: Critically acclaimed author David Joy, whose debut, Where All Light Tends to Go, was hailed as “a savagely moving novel that will likely become an important addition to the great body of Southern literature” (The Huffington Post), returns to the mountains…

Book Review: The Night Ocean, Paul La Farge

The Night Ocean by Paul La Farge My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: From the award-winning author and New Yorker contributor, a riveting novel about secrets and scandals, psychiatry and pulp fiction, inspired by the lives of H.P. Lovecraft and his circle. Marina Willett, M.D., has a problem. Her husband, Charlie, has become obsessed with…

Book Review: The Scribe of Siena, Melodie Winawer

The Scribe of Siena by Melodie Winawer My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: Equal parts transporting love story and gripping historical conspiracy—think The Girl with a Pearl Earring meets Outlander—debut author Melodie Winawer takes readers deep into medieval Italy, where the past and present blur and a twenty-first century woman will discover a plot…

Book Review: Flowers for Algernon, Daniel Keyes

Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes My rating: 4 of 5 stars If you could be turned into a genius by having surgery, would you do it? Of course, there is a catch. You would eventually regress into what you were before, and at some point, die because of it. Flowers for Algernon was a…

Book Review: The Sword of Summer, Rick Riordan

The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan My rating: 4 of 5 stars Approximately 2 minutes after finishing the book: YAASSSSSSSSS Full review to come. Edited 11/11/2015 There are unmarked spoilers in this review. Read at your own risk. When I started this book, I didn’t think I was going to like it as much…