Book Review: Hex, Thomas Olde Heuvelt

Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt My rating: 3 of 5 stars Summary: Whoever is born here, is doomed to stay ’til death. Whoever settles, never leaves. Welcome to Black Spring, the seemingly picturesque Hudson Valley town haunted by the Black Rock Witch, a 17th century woman whose eyes and mouth are sewn shut. Muzzled, she walks…

Book Review: Gone Without a Trace, Mary Torjussen

Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: GONE WITHOUT A TRACE by Mary Torjussen is a chilling, twisty, compulsive thriller about a woman whose boyfriend has vanished. Fans of I LET YOU GO and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN will be gripped. No one ever disappears completely… You leave…

Book Review: The Weight of This World, David Joy

The Weight of This World by David Joy My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: Critically acclaimed author David Joy, whose debut, Where All Light Tends to Go, was hailed as “a savagely moving novel that will likely become an important addition to the great body of Southern literature” (The Huffington Post), returns to the mountains…

Book Review: The Night Ocean, Paul La Farge

The Night Ocean by Paul La Farge My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: From the award-winning author and New Yorker contributor, a riveting novel about secrets and scandals, psychiatry and pulp fiction, inspired by the lives of H.P. Lovecraft and his circle. Marina Willett, M.D., has a problem. Her husband, Charlie, has become obsessed with…

Book Review: The Scribe of Siena, Melodie Winawer

The Scribe of Siena by Melodie Winawer My rating: 4 of 5 stars Summary: Equal parts transporting love story and gripping historical conspiracy—think The Girl with a Pearl Earring meets Outlander—debut author Melodie Winawer takes readers deep into medieval Italy, where the past and present blur and a twenty-first century woman will discover a plot…

Book Review: Dead Until Dark, Charlaine Harris

Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris My rating: 3 of 5 stars I have not read many vampire mystery novels, so I wasn’t really sure what to expect from this book. It was…okay. Not great, but not the worst book ever either. First: Characters. Sookie is an interesting person. She’s a telepathic waitress and has…

Book Review: Flowers for Algernon, Daniel Keyes

Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes My rating: 4 of 5 stars If you could be turned into a genius by having surgery, would you do it? Of course, there is a catch. You would eventually regress into what you were before, and at some point, die because of it. Flowers for Algernon was a…

Book Review: Timeline, Michael Crichton

Timeline by Michael Crichton My rating: 5 of 5 stars Holy crap, that was awesome! Review to come. Edited 10/12/2015 Where do I even begin with this? It was absolutely brilliant! Well, plot, I guess. This book is centered around three students going back in time to save their beloved professor. With going back, they…

Book Review: The Princess and the Penis, R.J. Silver

The Princess & the Penis by R.J. Silver My rating: 5 of 5 stars That was great XD Rtc. Edited 12/7/2015 Did I wonder at times why I was reading this book? Yes. Was it ridiculous? Yes. Did I absolutely love it? Heck yeah. This entire story was filled with silly innuendos and hilarity. I…